jump to navigation

A Wind of Changes Coming December 2, 2010

Posted by Maniac in Site News.
add a comment

After the influx of readers I got this past week, a lot of comments that I got back from many of the readers addressed a similar concern.  That is, the lack of professionalism in this site.  Now, when I started this site back in March of this year, professionalism wasn’t as much of a concern for me as other concerns.  My attitude towards that had to do with the fact I don’t write for a larger website, and I was perfectly happy keeping the persona of an outsider.  This site is my own, I operate it by myself for no pay, no perks, and no appreciation.

However, I believed once I started to get more regular readers and possibly some developer support I would have to step up and make this site more professional in order to be taken seriously by my fellow gaming journalists.  This would espessially be important if I wanted to use this site as credentials for wider distribution, E3, or a journalist position in a larger site.

Starting Monday the site is going to recieve a content makeover.  This will include updates for the “about me” section, the site mission statement (you can see it on the sidebar) and how I carry myself from now on.  Rest assured my currently existing editorials will remain the same and you can still expect a regular stream of news, videos and editorials.

Rock Band Reloaded Launched on iPhone December 2, 2010

Posted by Maniac in Game News.
add a comment

A sequel to Rock Band has been released for iPad, iPhone and iPod Touch.  It is called Rock Band Reloaded.  The major addition to Reloaded over the original Rock Band iPhone game has to be full support for vocals over microphone, a feature that was suprisingly not in the first Rock Band iPhone game.  The game also features 2-player Co-Op on one iPad.

Track list is as follows:

  • 3 Doors Down “Kryptonite”
  • Alice in Chains “Your Decision”
  • Beastie Boys “So What’Cha Want”
  • Billy Idol “White Wedding”
  • Drowning Pool “Bodies”
  • Duran Duran “Hungry Like the Wolf”
  • Evenescence “Call Me When You’re Sober”
  • Megadeth “Peace Sells”
  • NIN “The Perfect Drug”
  • Nirvana “In Bloom”
  • No Doubt “Hella Good”
  • Pat Benatar “Heartbreaker”
  • Seether “Remedy”
  • Steve Miller Band “Rockn’ Me”
  • Vampire Weekend “A-Punk”

There are also extra tracks that can be downloaded through the Rock Band in-game store.  Some of the track packs are free.

Rock Band Reloaded is $4.99 US and you can buy it on the Apple App Store.

New Ghostbusters Game Announced December 2, 2010

Posted by Maniac in Game News.
add a comment

A sequel to last year’s summer release, Ghostbusters: The Video Game, has been announced.  It is titled Ghostbusters: Sanctum of Slime and it will be for the PC, Xbox 360 and PS3.

What’s special about this game is that it is going to support four player cooperative play through local or online multiplayer.  The whole concept of Ghostbusters always revolved around the team.  In fact one of the rules of being a ghostbuster (as said by Egon in the first episode of Extreme Ghostbusters) is “Never go it alone.”

That said, the game will likely not have any of the likenesses of the Ghostbusters cast.  Bill, Dan, Harold and Ernie are not scheduled to appear.  The game is going to revolve around the Rookie, who at the end of the first game got the rights to his own franchise in another city.  This is probably why the original four aren’t going to appear in the game, as they’re probably too busy in New York to help out.  Here’s to hoping he starts a franchise in Denver!

Oh and there will be bosses.  BIG bosses.

Ghostbusters: Sanctum of Slime is coming multiplatform Spring 2011.